Aziz Merchant

Keppel Offshore & Marine Limited

Adjunct Professor Aziz Merchant, is a leading international ship & offshore designer and expert. He obtained his postgraduate qualification in Naval Architecture from University College London. He has over 25 years’ extensive design & engineering experience of worldwide offshore oil & gas development and marine vehicles.

Prof. Aziz is the Executive Director of the Marine & Deepwater Technology division of Keppel Offshore & Marine. He has about 20 international scientific patents granted or filed under his name.Prof. Aziz Merchant is an Adjunct Professor at the National University of Singapore since 2014. He is the industry PI as well as the Co- Chairman of the Steering Committee for the Keppel-NUS Corporate Laboratory formed in 2014 which focuses on Arctic & Deepwater research & development. He is also an industry PI on Additive Manufacturing at Singapore Centre for 3D Printing at Nanyang Technological University.

In April 2018, Aziz Merchant was appointed as the industry PI for the Keppel – TCOMS (Technology Centre for Offshore & Marine, Singapore) joint Research Laboratory focusing on research in the areas of digitalization, future offshore system & autonomous vessel. TCOMS is a joint venture between NUS & A*STAR.

Prof. Aziz is also a member of the Singapore President Technology Award selection committee since 2015. He has served various Technical Committees and Boards based on his extensive experience and expertise in Offshore Design and Construction. He is a Fellow of the Royal Institution of Naval Architects, Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers and Institute of Marine Engineering, Science & Technology.

He has also been recognized by industries for his unwavering drive for innovation. He received the Singapore Maritime Port Authority (MPA) Outstanding Maritime R&D & Technology Award in 2008 & 2015 and the Institute of Engineers Singapore Prestigious Engineering Achievement Awards 2009, 2013, 2016 & 2018. He has also received the ASEAN Outstanding Engineering Achievement Awards in 2009 & 2018.

This page uses cookies, read more about it here »